About LNBE

The Laboratory of Nano-Bioengineering (LNBE) of the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute/National Research Nuclear University MEPhI, was founded under the terms of Contract no. 11.G34.31.0050 between the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation; National Research Nuclear University MEPhI; and Prof. Igor R. Nabiev, D.Sc., Leading Scientist of the project, under RF Government Decree no. 220 "On the Attraction of World's Leading Scientists to Russian Institutions of Higher Education" of April 9, 2010.

The project is aimed at studying energy transfer and ultrafast processes at the nanolevel and application of the results to molecular diagnosis of diseases and the development of nano–bio hybrid systems where energy is transferred from nanomaterials to biomaterials.

 

The project includes:

(1) The foundation of a world-class laboratory for research and development in the field of nano–bio hybrid materials combining the advanced nano-bioengineering techniques developed by the leading scientist with the infrastructure and experience of the National Research Nuclear University MEPhI in energetics and study of energy transfer and ultrafast processes.

(2) Research in energy transfer at the nanolevel and the methods of using them for more efficient biofuel production and in photovoltaics.

(3) The development of a new generation of highly sensitive, specific diagnostic systems based on nano–bio hybrid materials and the study of processes at the nano–bio interface.

 

LNBE's research and development activities are carried out in four research groups:

         - Nano-Heterostructure Physics Group. Leader, Prof. Alexander A. Chistyakov, Ph.D., D.Sc.

         The group's scope of research includes the photophysical and electrophysical properties of semiconductor nanostructures and hybrid nanomaterials based on these structures. Special attention is paid to nanolevel electron excitation transfer analyzed by means of time-resolved laser spectroscopy. The research is aimed at the development and fabrication of highly efficient photovoltaic cells.

         - Nanochemistry Group. Leader, Pavel S. Samokhvalov, Ph.D.

         The group specializes in the colloidal synthesis of different types of nanocrystals with controlled physicochemical characteristics, as well as targeted chemical modification of the nanocrystal surface in order to impart the desired functional properties to the nanocrystals. The group is studying the energy structure and optical characteristics of semiconductor and plasmonic nanocrystals and develops the methods for manufacturing nanomaterials with controlled properties that could be used in biomedical and photovoltaic applications.

         - Biophysics Group. Leader, Vladimir A. Oleinikov, Ph.D., D.Sc.

         The group focuses on the monitoring of chemical and biological processes by means of sensors using nanolevel energy transfer, as well as the study of hybrid systems composed of photosensitive biological systems and nanocrystals. New generations of instruments are being developed for simultaneous measurement of numerous structural, physical, chemical, and functional parameters of nanomaterials. New approaches to the standardization and optimization of nano–bio hybrid materials developed in LNBE for biomedical applications have been suggested.

         - Nanomedicine Group.

         The researchers constituting this group, the largest in LNBE, have unique experience in the development of nanodiagnostic systems of a new generation employing energy transfer, as well as their application to the diagnosis of malignant tumors and autoimmune diseases in humans and monitoring of the treatment efficacy. The group is also studying the processes at the nano–bio interface in order to characterize the possible effects of nanomaterials on human health. The Nanomedicine Group is the basis of the European Technological Platform "Semiconductor Nanocrystals."

 
 
 
© 2012 Laboratory of Nano-BioEngineering

О лаборатории

Лаборатория нано-биоинженерии НИЯУ "МИФИ" основана в рамках Договора №11.G34.31.0050 между Министерством образования и науки Российской Федерации, НИЯУ "МИФИ" и ведущим ученым, д-ром хим. наук проф. Игорем Р. Набиевым, по постановлению Правительства РФ от 9 апреля 2010 г. № 220 «О мерах по привлечению ведущих ученых в российские образовательные учреждения высшего профессионального образования».

Проект направлен на изучение переноса энергии и сверхбыстрых процессов на наноуровне и применение полученных результатов в молекулярной диагностике заболеваний и для создания гибридных нано-био систем, использующих эффекты переноса энергии от нано- к био-материалам.

 

В рамках проекта:

(1) Создается лаборатория мирового уровня в области производства гибридных нано-биоматериалов, совмещающая передовые методы нано-биоинженерии, разработанные ведущим ученым, с инфраструктурой и опытом НИЯУ "МИФИ" в области энергетики, изучения процессов  переноса энергии и сверхбыстрых процессов.

(2) Исследуются процессы переноса энергии на наноуровне и способы их использования для более эффективного производства био-топлива и в фотовольтаике;

(3) Разрабатывается новое поколение высокочувствительных и специфичных диагностических систем на основе гибридных нано-био материалов, а также изучаются процессы, происходящие на границе раздела нано- и био-систем.

 

Научно-исследовательская и опытно-конструкторская деятельность ЛНБИ сосредоточена в четырех научных группах:

       -  Группа физики нано-гетероструктур - рук. д-р физ.-мат. наук, проф. Александр А. Чистяков

       Основные направления работы группы охватывают фотофизические и электрофизические свойства полупроводниковых наноструктур и гибридных наноматериалов на их основе. Особое внимание уделяется изучению процессов переноса электронного возбуждения на наноуровне с использованием методов лазерной спектроскопии с высоким временным разрешением. Проводимые исследования направлены на разработку и конструирование высокоэффективных фотовольтаических ячеек. 

        -  Группа нанохимии - рук. к. хим. наук Павел Самохвалов

        Группа специализируется на коллоидном синтезе различных типов нанокристаллов с заданными физико-химическими свойствами, а также на направленной химической модификации поверхности нанокристаллов с целью придания им необходимых функциональных свойств. Исследования группы направлены на изучение энергетической структуры и оптических характеристик полупроводниковых и плазмонных нанокристаллов, а также на направленное получение наноматериалов с необходимыми свойствами для приложений в биомедицине и фотовольтаике.     

       -  Группа биофизики - рук. д-р физ.-мат. наук Владимир А. Олейников

       Ключевыми направлениями работы группы являются мониторинг химических и биологических процессов с использованием сенсоров на основе переноса энергии на наноуровне и исследование гибридов фоточувствительных биологических систем с нанокристаллами. Разрабатываются приборы новых поколений для одновременной характеризации структурных, физико-химических и многих функциональных параметров наноматериалов. Предложены новые подходы к стандартизации и оптимизации нано-био гибридных материалов, создаваемых в ЛНБИ для биомедицинских приложений.

       -  Группа наномедицины

       Сотрудники самой крупной группы лаборатории обладают уникальным опытом в разработке нанодиагностических систем нового поколения, основанных на принципе переноса энергии, и в их применении в диагностике онкологических и аутоимунных заболеваний человека и мониторинге эффективности лечения. Группа также исследует процессы, происходящие на границе раздела нано- и биосистем, с целью характеризации возможных эффектов, связанных с воздействием наноматериалов на здоровье человека. Группа наномедицины также составляет основу Европейской технологической платформы "Полупроводниковые нанокристаллы".

 
 
 
© 2012 Laboratory of Nano-BioEngineering